standards and codes

PHTA Standards Development Process

Part of PHTA's Center of Technical Excellence, the standards program consists of PHTA (serving as the Secretariat), the PHTA Standards Writing Committees (SWCs), the Standards Process Committee (SPC), the Technical Advisory Council (TAC), and the PHTA Standards Consensus Committee (SCC) serving as the consensus body. The SCC shall be sufficiently diverse and the PHTA will strive for balance of all interested and affected parties during the development process. This is to ensure reasonable balance without dominance by one particular interest category or corporation in accordance with the ANSI Essential Requirements. By adhering to ANSI's due process of openness, balance, and consensus, PHTA standards will serve and protect the public.

Steps to approve:

  1. The PHTA Standards Writing Committee (SWC) drafts the content of a proposed American National Standard.

    Learn more and apply to be a member of a PHTA Standard Writing Committee

  2. The Technical Advisory Council (TAC) ensures the technical accuracy of the standard, and through the Standards Process Committee (SPC) and Code Action Committee (CAC) ensures integration among PHTA and industry codes and standards.

    Learn more and apply to be a member of a PHTA Technical Committee

  3. The draft then enters the ANSI balloting process for a vote of the PHTA Standards Consensus Committee (SCC) and public review. The SCC is responsible for approving the technical content of the standard.

    Learn more and apply to be a member of the PHTA Standards Consensus Committee

  4. The standard is submitted to ANSI for approval as an American National Standard.

    Interested parties may provide input during the standard development process. You may always comment or submit a change request for any PHTA Standard.

Submit a PHTA Standard Change Request


  • Technical Advisory Council (TAC)
  • Standards Process Committee (SPC)
  • Recreational Water and Air Quality Committee (RWAQC)
  • Code Action Committee (CAC)
  • Editorial Review Committee (ERC)
  • Standards Consensus Committee (SCC)
  • Standard Writing Committees (SWCs)

    • PHTA-1 SWC for Public Pool and Spa Design, Construction and Installation
    • PHTA-2 SWC for Public Pool and Spa Operations and Maintenance
    • PHTA-3 SWC for Permanently Installed Residential Spas and Swim Spas
    • PHTA-4 SWC for Aboveground/Onground Residential Swimming Pools
    • PHTA-5 SWC for Residential Inground Swimming Pools
    • PHTA-6 SWC for Residential Portable Spas and Swim Spas
    • PHTA-7 SWC for Suction Entrapment Avoidance In Swimming Pools, Wading Pools, Spas, Hot Tubs, and Catch Basins
    • PHTA-8 SWC for Model Barrier Code for Residential Swimming Pools, Spas, and Hot Tubs
    • PHTA-9 SWC for Aquatic Recreation Facilities
    • PHTA-10 SWC for Elevated Pools, Spas and other Aquatic Venues Integrated into a Building or Structure
    • PHTA-11 SWC for Water Quality in Public Pools and Spas
    • PHTA-12 SWC for the Plastering of Swimming Pools and Spas
    • PHTA-13 SWC for Water Conservation Efficiency in Residential and Public Pools, Spas, Portable Spas and Swim Spas
    • PHTA-14 SWC for Portable Electric Spa Energy Efficiency
    • PHTA-15 SWC for Residential Swimming Pool and Spa Energy Efficiency
    • PHTA-16 SWC for Suction Outlet Fitting Assemblies (SOFA) for Use in Pools, Spas, and Hot Tubs


Pool & Hot Tub Alliance Strategic Partners:

  • Fluidra
  • Hayward
  • Lou
  • Lyon Financial
  • MCC
  • Pentair
  • Raypak
  • WatkinsWellness

This website uses cookies, including from third parties, to improve your user experience and for website analysis and statistics. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use this website.